Road Bike Tire Recommendations

sports86

Aug 4, 2011
[FONT= 'Arial']I live in the New Jersey, Philadelphia area. I currently ride a Specialized Roubaix Bike.[/FONT]
[FONT= 'Arial']I ride about 2 times during the week and Saturdays and Sundays for a total of 4 times a week.[/FONT]
[FONT= 'Arial']Weekdays I ride about 20 miles each day and on weekends I ride about 30-35 miles each day.[/FONT]
[FONT= 'Arial']I'm 5'11 and 225. I have a couple of rides coming up that are 75 miles plus. So I’m looking at new road tires.[/FONT]
[FONT= 'Arial']I've been looking at the following Continental Gatorskin Hardshell, Bontrager racelite hardcase, and Specialized elite Armadillo.[/FONT]
[FONT= 'Arial']Has anyone road on any of them and can anyone shed some light on theses tire. [/FONT]

I've been using the Bontrager RaceLite Hardcases for several years now and have had very good luck with them.

I went flat free for 5 years and then had 2 flats within 10 days last year. Since then I've been flat free. My current set has over 4,000 miles on them and I'll probably finish the riding season on them, and may even run them for awhile next year.

Don't know about the Hardshell but I have had good luck with the Continental Gatorskin in the past. The Bontragers are ususally good on this front too. Michelin Krylion Carbons don't do too bad here either.

But really, luck is the opeative word when it comes to punctures (and the presence of mind to look ahead on the road).

I just put on a set of the Continental Gator Skin Folding tired. After about 200 miles of riding, they seem to be holding up nicely. Still have a tiny bit of the excess rubber that is on the tread of new tires(specific name of that excess rubber escapes me).

I go along with the Gatorskin referral. Have had two sets over the last 7000+ miles. Maybe two flats in that time.

Originally Posted by Jamin Jake .