Road bike vs Fitness bike? overwhelmed with options

DeidraLeigh

Apr 20, 2011
I really hope i can get some advice. I have been riding with a junkie Hybrid bike for a few years now that i purchased for 100 at Target. I purchased the bike as i am not a very good runner and wanted to try out biking to see if it was something I liked. i love it so much Ive never stopped and quickly longed for a better bike.

Ive researched all the options available but there are SOOO many options it seems.
i recently visited a local bike shop and tried out a few types. 1. was i believe a Fuji brand fitness bike and a Giant Avail road bike.

I want to go distances and although have no current interest in racing, Id like to join a group. I feel slightly intimidated since i have only ridden with friends on my junkie bike but that's besides the point.

I think my main question is, curved or straight bars? this is the question bothering me. the straight bar is what Ive been most comfortable with since its what Ive been riding for sometime and the riding position is comfortable for me. I tried the Giant Road bike today and it was definitely felt odd. much lighter and faster but i couldn't reach the brakes very easily and that made me nervous. the bike wasn't the right size for me so i know that likely had much to do with it.

anyway, i cant decide which i should go with. If i decide to go with the Curved handlebars I feel like I'm loosing the option of a relaxed ride. in that case would i need a second bike? can you ride fast distances with a road bike like that and still ride in a more upright position if you want to or are you limited by the design of the bike?

or should i just purchase a straight bar bike because i can ride distances easily with that kind of bike and also just ride around if I so choose.

thanks
D