Road bike wheelsets

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by Goose5, Jul 30, 2016.

1. Goose5

Goose5 New Member

Looking for a new set of wheels. I'm currently running entry level Mavic's that came with the bike. Looking to spend 500 to 1000. I am considering Williams Wheels System 30 with the higher spoke count. What else is out there that I need to be aware of?

Tags:

2. Uawadall

Uawadall Well-Known Member

I'm no expert in this stuff, but it would be helpful to give info on what you like/dislike about your current wheel set. Also, what kind of features you'd like for your new set. For example, is durability the main concern? Climbing? Speed on the Flats? A combo of both? I'm sure if you provide more input, you'll get some good advice from some of the seasoned members here. I was recommended the Mavic Kysrium Elite's by members here 5 months or so ago and am happy with them. Their a pretty good set of wheels that do everything good,but not great. Basically a good all arounder in the 600-800 range.

3. Goose5

Goose5 New Member

I'm 55 years old so I don't go very fast. I was riding with a friend who is that same size. On a down hill his Oval wheels rolled much faster than my Asksium wheels. That experience has me thinking about upgrading. So I guess my answer would be an all around wheel. Lighter and faster.

4. dhk2

dhk2 Active Member

Well, I have to disagree with your assessment. No one's wheels roll much faster downhill, and that includes fancy deep-rim designs, which would be a little faster if everything else was equal. If your friend coasts downhill faster than you, it's most likely his bodyweight, then his position on the bike, then the tires, then clothing. (Note, I'm assuming you don't have dragging brakes or hubs, and have your tires inflated to the proper pressure.)