Road Tires

Discussion in 'The Bike Cafe' started by GPT, Jul 27, 2004.

1. GPT

GPT New Member

Armadillos last a while but what are your favorite tires for speed? 700x23 or there abouts. I've tried Rubino & Bontrager and think the Bontragers are more comfortable but not a zippy. Thoughts?

Tags:

2. cydewaze

cydewaze New Member

I've been using Continental GP 3000s for a few years now, and have been happy with them, especially in damp conditions. I go through them a bit quickly, but I'm a bit of a load to carry at 186 lbs (~84kg)

3. Geoff2010

Geoff2010 New Member

I ride Michelin Pro Race... they are a little pricey, but I love the grip around the corners :)

... and they roll fast.

4. gntlmn

gntlmn New Member

I just replaced my back tire with 1800 miles on it. It was a Continental Gator Skin. I replaced it with a Continental Ultra 2000. I don't think it will last as long, but it is lower priced. Do you get a lot of miles out of those GP 3000's?

Incidentally, if you ride in the rain, your tires will wear out much quicker than if you don't. I got this from a Goodyear rep who was selling Caterpillar tires. They wear out quickest in wet conditions.

5. Powerful Pete

Powerful Pete New Member

Vittoria Rubinho tires (check out the new Tech and Slick models). If you are feeling the need to travel fast and in style, the Open Corsa Evo CX are the way to go. Faaast, but expensive and they wear quickly. But it's worth it. :D

6. gdiza

gdiza New Member

on my main bike, i'm using continental ultrasport (yellow colouring)

on the other bike (that sits on my cycle trainer for majortity of its life) i have continental tyres too, but i can't remember exactly what make but its training tyres.

7. domaindomain

domaindomain New Member

Michelin Pro Race 2 just now for me most of the time (have other bikes with Vittoria and Conti on board)

The new michelin is a worth successor to the pro race badge, I like it a lot.

8. Wurm

Wurm New Member