RockShok SID SL

Status
Not open for further replies.
W

Webby

Hi all,

I have spotted a hard trail XC bike with RockShok SID SL suspension that I am interested in. After
reading reports around the web I find that many comments are about the "Quality of product", such as
parts prone to failure.

I am not a full blown XC racer, but I do like to ride fast flat forest trails with no planned jumps.
As I do not intend to bash the hell out of my bike I was wondering if this reporting was due to the
way people ride or of a product on the limits of its design?

Once again I have read that this fork is well suited to people of under 80kg (176lbs), this is
another point I need advice on as I weigh 84kg (185lbs). Should I be looking for a stronger fork or
am I reading far to much into the downside of the reporting and not the positive aspects.

I'm new to the quality bike scene and have been riding a (no name) bike for far to long. Thanks
in advance.

Webby

--
rec.bicycles.off-road is moderated by volunteers. To find help solving posting problems, or contact
the moderators, please see http://rbor.org/ Please read the charter before posting:
http://rbor.org/rbor_charter.txt

I think you're reading too much into it. The Marzocchi forks are probably the benchmark these days,
but the SID's are pretty good. I worry more about maintenance than performance these days. I prefer
coil spring units since they are relatively maintenance free. I still have a bad taste in my mouth
from the old school air spring forks of old and have shied away from them ever since. IMHO, air
springs simply don't make sense in a fork. However, SID's are used by many XC racers and I'm sure
they're adequate for most uses.

Cheers,

Scott..
--
Scott Anderson

"Webby" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]...
> Hi all,
>
> I have spotted a hard trail XC bike with RockShok SID SL suspension that I am interested in. After