RR: A neighborhood fixin'

Discussion in 'Mountain Bikes' started by Carla A-G, May 27, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Carla A-G

Carla A-G Guest

We worked on getting the fixed gear bikes ready. It had been raining all weekend long, there would
    be no opportunity to hit the dirt. Hopefully, the rain would hold off enough to take the torture
    devices out for a pleasant spin, perhaps on the paved bike path. I am a complete newbie to fixed
    gear bikes, so I expected quite the experience. Jim has been riding fixed gears for many years, so
    he would have no problem.

One last check over the bikes and we were just about to hit the road. The weather was holding.
    Barely holding. We got out the door and were about the hit the road when...it started to come down.
    Shit. It started to come down hard. Looks like our plans would be ruined for the ride. We decided to
    make the best of it. We decided to terrorize the residential neighborhood that we lived in with our
    sleek steel tubed maidens.

I had a heck of a time trying to ride my bike. You can really pick up momentum very quickly from the
    start, but stopping the bike without a brake can really do some damage if you can't get the bike
    under control. Luckily, I installed a front brake but I tried not to use it and relied on my legs to
    go with the flow of the bike. The pain that resulted from these stops and starts was getting to me.
    The feeling was comparable to having sulfuric acid pumped into my veins (not that I have ever had
    that done, but I can imagine it would feel the same...). Jim had not been on his fixie for a while,
    so he was experiencing the same "mutilating suicide"...as he called it.

We rode around in the rain, doing laps around the neighborhood. The bikes felt sturdy and fast. Very
    fast. One day, when the rain decides to stop, we shall attempt to torture ourselves again.

- CA-G

Can-Am Girls Kick Ass!

Tags: