RR: (my first) different pace

Discussion in 'Mountain Bikes' started by Rich, Jun 16, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rich

Rich Guest

Our local (Madison wi) lovable trail is the Quarry. About 2-4 blocks of woods in an urban area with
    an estimated 7 miles of super fun technical trail. It's within riding distance of my house so I ride
    there *all* the time. Without realizing it, I've been riding there exclusively for the last 6 months
    so Sunday I figured it was time to experience other trails again.

I called Bob because he's always ready to ride on a moments notice. We head out to the Camrock
    trails to see the new sections that they've been working on for the last few months. Neither of us
    had been out there more than once and didn't think to get directions so we wandered around this
    quaint little town that was having a pottery fest until we found a road that looked familiar.

Once we got to the trail we were most surprised to see absolutely no one else there. The weather was
    perfect but alas no one seemed to notice. Their loss.

Now Bob is great company and an amazing rider, I swear he can climb and descend what can only be
    described as rock walls, but speed really isn't his thing. We're talking about a mosey. I knew this
    starting off so I mentally prepared to not hammer and just hang out. I had to keep reminding myself
    to slow down and admire the greenery but still managed to gain a few hundred meters every few
    minutes. Normally that wouldn't be a problem but prolonged waiting screams buffet to the swarms of
    mosquitoes.

We had purchased a disposable underwater camera for a previous adventure and had a few shots left so
    we took some poses (I'll post them when I get them developed, where is a good place to upload
    them?). There is a pretty spooky double drop on the new section that I wouldn't even think about