running injury?

L

Lurisia

Hi,

I exercise almost every day at the gym (treadmill, elliptical maching, stairmaster) and only very
recently began to suffer from a minor injury. When I do a lunge strech (pictured here:
http://www.organiconline.com.sg/yoga/yogabendup.jpg) I get a gnawing pain when my right foot is
forward and left foot is back. The other way is fine. The pain is right in the middle of my hip, my
groin, and my right inner thigh, where the femur attaches. I've been doing this strech for 2 years
and only recently encountered the pain.

Does anyone know:

1. What could have caused this?

2. How I can make it go away?

Thanks for info, Lurisia

On Thu, 05 Feb 2004 08:31:47 GMT, lurisia <[email protected]> wrote:

>1. What could have caused this?

The 'lunge stretch'.

>2. How I can make it go away?

Stop attempting the 'lunge stretch'.

This isn't as facetious as it sounds. Clearly, this extreme stretch has cause some damage, the exact
nature of which cannot be diagnosed via the internet.

Yunno, just because some Yoga geeks can do this stretch until they're 127 years of age doesn't mean
that either you can, or should, attempt to do the same. We are all different; our bodies react to
physical stress in different ways and we would be well advised to develop a sound appreciation of
what we can, and cannot, achieve without undue difficulty in this regard.

Unless the ability to perform the 'lunge stretch' is central to your being, I suggest you grow up
and do something less silly instead.

lurisia wrote:
> Hi,
>
> I exercise almost every day at the gym (treadmill, elliptical maching, stairmaster) and only very
> recently began to suffer from a minor injury. When I do a lunge strech (pictured here:
> http://www.organiconline.com.sg/yoga/yogabendup.jpg) I get a gnawing pain when my right foot is
> forward and left foot is back. The other way is fine. The pain is right in the middle of my hip,