Running Red Lights - Croydon Style

Discussion in 'Your Bloody Soap Box' started by szr660, Jun 13, 2003.

1. szr660

szr660 New Member

Just had to get this off my chest but first a bit of background. I used to race bikes very badly in the 80s and have just got back into riding in the last few months, firstly in preparation for the London To Brighton and secondly for general health reasons, and because I LOVE it!.

I drive a car, and ride a motorcycle.

NOW...why do so many bloody cyclists think its OK to just sail through red lights in the Croydon CBD, nearly knocking over pedestrians on the way, shouting abuse if a car nearly punts them off. What do they expect?

I have always thought that cyclists ought to be responsible road users, on the basis of if we want the full rights of the road we have to accept the Highway Code.

Its funny I only noticed this when I started riding a bike again. Maybe, as I am 37, I am turning into Victor Meldrew!!

Tags:

2. steve

steve Administrator
    Staff Member

Its called natural selection, should we interfere? I think NOT, I’m happy for these silly pricks to work out for them selves that the under a car isn’t a place they ought to be.

Its not that your 37, its more like that fact there are dip****s driving cars, trucks and buses, riding motobikes, walking and also riding BIKES.

cheers

Steve

3. kwv

kwv New Member

And many Brisbane cyclists especially in West End has not worked out (thanks to the Queensland Government and Brisbane Council) as responsible road users you must by law walk (not ride) your bike across the crossing when you leave the footpath.

4. stubacca

stubacca New Member

I'm with you on this one, buddy. Nothing I can't stand more than cyclists who don't follow the road rules, both when I'm riding and when driving.

I value my life, so I always wear a helmet, always signal (left & right turns and slowing down/stopping), and always obey all traffic laws. I've never had an accident on the road yet...