Sacked For Being A Christian

Discussion in 'Your Bloody Soap Box' started by Carrera, Nov 21, 2006.

1. Carrera

Carrera New Member

This is one of my "I told you so!" posts.
    Nadia Eweida, as you may be aware, has lost her job and her appeal against British Airways has failed. She got into hot water for refusing to remove her tiny crucifix which, in actual fact, was the size of a small marble.
    Dr John Sentamu the Archbishop of York has condemned this latest development and Nadia Eweida has been interviewed on U.S. television and given her testimony to an American audience.
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/north_yorkshire/6166746.stm
    The reason I say, "Told you so!" is I've been pointing out for the last several months that a multifaith, multicultural society would inevitably lead to loss of tolerance, discrimination and religious tension and I believe this case illustrates that point.
    The fact is Nadia Eweida has been discriminated against on account of her Christian beliefs while British Airways personnel of other faiths have encountered no similar restrictions. So, apparently, BA sees no reason why their staff can't wear beads, veils, burkhas or turbans yet a woman loses her job over a cross she wears round her neck, which is deemed to be offensive, I imagine. Or maybe she's an easy target?
    Incidentally, I don't happen to share this lady's belief system but I do believe she's been discriminated against and like many other folks won't be flying with BA again for that matter. That's my bloody rant. :mad: :D
    Nuff said.

Tags:

2. gclark8

gclark8 New Member

A cross is a method of execution.

Would you condone other religious groups wearing a miniture AK47 rifle or a commecial airliner around their necks? :eek:

3. Carrera

Carrera New Member

I think it's a pity folks in this country have seemingly gotten used to being used as doormats and for that I blame this current, illiberal Labour Government.