Saddle Advice

MKD

Feb 5, 2007
I'm pretty new to cycling. I am riding a Specialized Roubaix w/ a Specialize Avatar 143 saddle. I've been getting a lot of numbness on my long rides. Any suggestions on a saddle that will help prevent this numbness from happening?

MKD said:
I'm pretty new to cycling. I am riding a Specialized Roubaix w/ a Specialize Avatar 143 saddle. I've been getting a lot of numbness on my long rides. Any suggestions on a saddle that will help prevent this numbness from happening?

This is tough to really help you through a forum. Don't give up on the saddle just yet. Try this; Make sure you are fitted properly. Pay for it if you can. If not, start with a level saddle or very slightly forward sloping. I've found a good place to start with saddle height is 88% to 90% of your inseam in cm. Height is from bottom bracket center to top of saddle along seat tube.
Fore and aft position is determined by a number of measurements, for now ride with your hands on the brake hoods and the handlebar should obscure the front hub or be slightly in front of it. These are just starting suggestions.
There are many factors in bike fit. There are some online fit calculators that can help if you want to fit yourself, then tweak it.

Yup, fit most likely the issue. A $200 poorly fitting saddle will be painful, whereas a $50 saddle properly fitted fore n' aft, the proper level plane and height will be comfy for 100 plus miles.

capwater said:
Yup, fit most likely the issue. A $200 poorly fitting saddle will be painful, whereas a $50 saddle properly fitted fore n' aft, the proper level plane and height will be comfy for 100 plus miles.
+2 for fit (saddle positioning) being the most important thing. There's really very little magic in the saddle itself (or if there is, I haven't found it yet).