saddle height & speed?

Discussion in 'Mountain Bikes' started by ron19, Aug 18, 2005.

1. ron19

ron19 New Member

:eek: Hi, I am relatively new to cycling at the age of 56 but am now getting more into it. I did 800 miles last year and have been doing 80 to 100 miles a week this summer. Scenario : when I was a kid, I was taught that you should always be able to put your feet down whilst sitting. I bought a cheapish road bike from Decathlon and I had to set it up myself - so I dropped the seat so I could touch the ground. Having watched some local races I see that the serious guys have the seats well higher than this.
    Question ???? How much speed am I losing because of poor aerodynamics - and because i'm chicken ?

Thanks in advance for any comments and advice
    Ron
    :eek: :eek: sorry this shouldn't be in mountain biking :eek: :eek: :eek:

Tags:

2. AzzaC

AzzaC New Member

I wouldn't be concerned at all about 'poor aerodynamics' riding with your seat too low as it results in minimal gain.

I would be MUCH more concerned on overall pedalling efficiency, both physiologically and especially biomechanically. With the seat too low, you basically are limiting your range of motion at the knee and ankle joint. This limits the output of your leg muscles, so the force that they are generating is being wasted as they are being applied in the wrong direction.

In the long term, riding with the seat drastically low (as I can imagine given your description of being able to put the foot down whilst still standing) will lead to knee injury due to the poor biomechanics associated with it.

HTH.

3. eric_the_red

eric_the_red New Member