Saddle Position Question

grasshopperNC

Aug 9, 2003
I hope you guys can help! I'm new to riding - bought my first bike about a month ago. As I'm building time on the bike I'm noticing that my body seems to be "rolling forward" onto my pelvic bone. Very very uncomfortable - even with padded shorts! I took the bike to the shop that fitted me and she did say that my saddle was a little tilted. She made adjustments and I've been on two 1 hour rides since and the only difference I feel is that I'm not on the very front of the seat now - but there is even more pressure on my pelvic bone. I have lower back problems (crushed 4 and 5 lumbar 15 years ago). I thought my back was pretty strong - but this is a new position to try to hold for any length of time...I THINK that I'm flattening my body out over the bike when my back gets tired. I'm not sure that that's a wrong position though??

When you ride - does your back "round" over the saddle to the handles bar - or does it flatten out and stretch forward? Does that makes sense???

I appreciate any help or advice you can give me!

i i have post here (bikefit question) i just left a bike shop
that set me up, i needed a shorter stem. i had to play with seat
to get it in a comfy postition a slight tilt up for me. as far as your back goes it should flatten out as you ride more when
you ride your bike think of laying on it rather then sitting
tilt your pelvis foward that will help your back, with the long stem i had it wasnt comforatable for me to tilt pelvis, now it feels alot
better.you may also just need a differant saddle, maybe someone else here has more insight if this is no help good luck.

Right now I have a dolce with the cutaway. It's pretty soft and has a wide back to it. Other than the pelvic tilt thing I like the saddle. But this is enough pain to make me think of trying something different. It's not a soreness - it's just PAINFULL!