Saddle Position

MarkInNC

Apr 15, 2007
I have a Trek 6500 and I am new to bike ridding.

I have had the bike for about a month and have gone on about 15 rides ranging in length from 5 to 19 miles. I am using the seat that came with the bike. There is lots of talk here and anywhere that bike talk is found about seats and seat (dis)comfort.

I am pretty much uncomfortable on my seat. The dealer and a couple of friends all suggested giving it a try and attempting to change around the seat adjustments, tilt, for/aft adjustments.

I seem to be sliding forward on the seat and my sit bones then no longer are on the seat. I push back and am more comfortable but slide forward again.

I also feel that I am leaning forward too much and that makes my hands and wrists sore. I wanted to replace the handle bar riser tube to get the handle bars up about two inches. The dealer was leary about this and said I would then be placing too much weight on the rear tire and the bike would be out of balance.

Could these two issues be related?

thanks,

Mark

As far as how much weight is on your hands, I've read about people having as much as 30%of their weight on their hands. The general opinoin is that is too much. I believe it should be between these two posioions: 1) on the bars you can let go without using back muscules to compensate. 2) on the hoods pedaling hard, be able to let go of the hoods. I other words, you should have a little weight on your hands but not alot. If you have too much, move the seat back a little.

If you are sliding forward too often then tilt the front up a little.

Before you make any adjustments, measure the angle and height of you saddle (both front and back) so if you don't like the change you can get it back to the same spot. And alway make small adjustments, and try it cor a couple of rides.