Saracen vs Reebok

kmmc55

Aug 13, 2004
I am a novice biker in the UK and am looking to buy a mountain bike (with on road biking also). I have a budget of £200.

JJB Sports have a 2004 models - Saracen Rufftrax 21 speed bike and Reebok Traverse 24 speed bike within my budget - both £199. I dont know which one to go for.

I like the gear shifters on the Rufftrax , but the Traverse has aluminium cogs on the rear gears, metal pedals, squarer forks than the Rufftrax.

I dont know a great deal as I am only starting so any advice would be much appreciated.

Cheers, Kenny :confused:

:mad: oh well, i suppose i will have to decide without any "expert" tech advice :confused:

kmmc55 said:
:mad: oh well, i suppose i will have to decide without any "expert" tech advice :confused:
Please don't take offense to your unanswered question. It's tough to give a recommendation here because both of the bikes you mention are at the very low end of the quality spectrum, and most people on this board have probably never heard of either bike.

I did a quick google search of both bikes and came up with very little info on the Reebok, but quite a few hits for the Saracen. You might be able to find some comments upon searching for yourself.

Personally, I would look into purchasing a good used bike from Ebay (or local), for about the same price or a little more. Stick with the well established bike brands, but make sure you get the correct size! With a quality used bike, you can always upgrade individual components later as needed.

Yeah have to say for that money there all about the same whatever you buy & the only step up from £100 bikes will be a cheap aluminum frame instead of a **** hi-ten steel frame, as Scotty said if you want something decent search for 2nd hand in the free ads papers, theres allways lots of Lardys take up mountain biking to lose weight & then find out you actually have to pedal them so they get used a few times then sold on.