Scared of new Speedplay pedal

mnrunner

May 6, 2013
Hello,

I am a triathlete and marathon runner. I love running and swimming, and cycling is the distant third as I am nervous and cautious on the bike. Matters were not helped when I fell last May just 2 months after investing in a tri bike, and broke my wrist because I could not unclip in time and broke the fall with my hand. Since then, I have talked to numerous people, done research, and invested in two different pedal and cleat systems trying to find something that I am comfortable with - my confidence is much slower to recover than the broken bone. I've settled on Speedplay Light Action, and have practiced unclipping on the trainer all winter. I've just taken them outside for the first time on my Kestral, and really do not feel safe in them. They feel hard to get out of. I think part of the problem might be that I've been using them on the trainer for a few months now, and probably need to lubricate them.

Can anyone advise me on how often to lubricate them so they are easier to unclip out of, and what kind of lube to use? I understand I also need to grease the pedals, but my understanding is that that is separate and will not help with the ease of unclipping.

I'm registered for a few tris this summer, including the age group national which I qualified for. I so want to do these on my tri bike with proper pedals/cleats, but I need to feel like I can make these easier to get out of than they currently feel.

Nervous but determined in MN

FWIW. I cannot tell you how to lubricate your Speedplay pedals or cleats, but if you are having difficulty disengaging from the pedals ...

IF you don't have any known knee/hip/ankle problems, then 'I' recommend that you change to a different pedal/cleat system ...

AND, to that end, instead of using a pedal which has a lot of "float" that you opt for a normal pedal & use zero float cleats ...