School teacher seeks advice on his commute

centralmail

Aug 26, 2004
Hello All,

I am a school teacher in England, who has led a pretty unhealthy life to date.

I am 6ft tall and weigh 14 stones (= 196 pounds = 90 kilos), producing a body mass index of 26.6, which puts me in the overweight category ( http://nhlbisupport.com/bmi/bmicalc.htm )

The school is 4 miles away from where I live and the commute consists of a variety of uphill and downhill stretches. I am achieving this distance in about 30 minutes, resulting in an average speed of 8 miles per hour. I am somewhat physically tired at the end of this ride.

I haven't been on a bike for around 20 years (I am in my early 30s), and have been on my new bike only for a matter of days.

I was wondering if the more experienced participants on this forum could advise me as to whether or not this is a very poor average speed, given my circumstances. I would also be very interested in hearing from people who had a similar fitness profile to me when starting out, who would be able to share personal insights with respect to how / whether they were able to increase their average speed and how long it took them to build up to a more respectable average speed of, say, 12mph.

Thank you in advance for any comments.

Howdy there,