Schwinn Fastback Comp - Worth it?

ace4779

May 25, 2004
Hi,

I am new to road biking and am looking to purchase an entry-level road bike. Everything above the Sora component level has been explored from Giant OCR2, Trek 1200, Felt F80/70, Specialized Allez. I was at my LBS and I ran into a 2003 Schwinn Fastback Comp. My initial impression is that this was a great bang for the buck at $850 with full 105. Then I researched and saw that people were picking these up last fall for $700. Can anyone comment on this bike compared to the others in this range? I know this question is asked nearly daily, but I haven't seen the Fastback Comp discussed much with regards to this.

Thanks!

-Scott

Originally posted by ace4779
Hi,

I am new to road biking and am looking to purchase an entry-level road bike. Everything above the Sora component level has been explored from Giant OCR2, Trek 1200, Felt F80/70, Specialized Allez. I was at my LBS and I ran into a 2003 Schwinn Fastback Comp. My initial impression is that this was a great bang for the buck at $850 with full 105. Then I researched and saw that people were picking these up last fall for $700. Can anyone comment on this bike compared to the others in this range? I know this question is asked nearly daily, but I haven't seen the Fastback Comp discussed much with regards to this.

Thanks!

-Scott