schwinn varsity 700c

zaadee

Feb 3, 2008
So what do you guys think about the 700c schwinn varsity?
believe it or not, walmart sells them and they are pretty good looking. i recently bought it as a commuter, but now i wouldnt mind riding it everyday... im not a die hard cycler, (actually an ex-bmxer) but im new to the road bike scene and im going to give it a shot... its around 35lbs id say, and it handles pretty well... so far the only thing i don't like about it is the derailure... any ideas with what i can replace this with w/o spending a whole lot? any other suggestions that would make the bike better with out burning a hole in my pocket??

thanks!!

The new Varsity has been well covered elsewhere on this forum.

Thank you for the link to your store.

At a Wal*Mart near me, there was a bike with Shimano Tourney STI shifters. I don't remember which one it was, but I was kicking myself after I got the Schwinn 700c Prelude from Target which has no STI. Now I'm looking at the Sora double 7sp STI upgrade for the future. Found the set online for $99.

Someone on BF suggested I ask Sheldon who recently passed away. I never got to it and I'm kicking myself again.

The Prelude and the Varsity are essentially the same bike - it's good to get around on.:)

Happy cycling!

sgtpepper64 said:
Now I'm looking at the Sora double 7sp STI upgrade for the future. Found the set online for $99.
Where did you find the Sora for $99? I almost bought the Wally World bike with Sora for $150 just to get the shifters.

zaadee said:
So what do you guys think about the 700c schwinn varsity?