SCOTT P2 Bike - good or bad or ugly??

iain williams

Banned
Mar 7, 2008
Hello - Just joined! People here seem helpful & friendly. I hope you can provide some advice to me. :) I am a newbie!

I'm buying a bike for travelling to work each day (25 kms return), for the odd forest or four wheel drive track, and to maintain/vary my fitness routine. I also want to have something that allows me to scoot over gutters if required. I am 5/8 in height and weigh 78 KG.

Price is not that important, although I've set a rough arbitury $1500.00 limit.

Originally, I decided on a FELT QX 80, however, stock is zero. I then looked at the Avanti Illusion (but the dealer was pretty ordinary) and the bike didn't really appeal to me. Another dealer (very helpful) showed me a Scott P1/P2 which I did like. :D
  • Anyone know of any problems with this model (P1 & P2)?
  • As a new rider, is this model suitable for my requirements (communiting & low key off road now and again)?
  • Is this model a "quality machine"?
I was told that the running gear on the P1 & P2 is very good. I also have been told that the frame on the Scott is similar is style and quality to the Felt frame. The dealer said that most frames are similar at this price, however, running gear is not. Therefore, it's more important to go for higher end running gear.

So what are the more knowledgable people's thoughts - P1 or P2? Scott brand OK? :confused:

Many thanks.................Iain

Well if you don't like a mass produced bike for whatever reason then you may want to start if you get the Scott and at 1500 your hard pressed not too. Having said that the dealer is right don't worry about the frame but focus on the best components instead.

gemship said:
Having said that the dealer is right don't worry about the frame but focus on the best components instead.
Hi Gemship - I'm very new to bikes so please cut me some slack.