Scott Speedster S60 VS. Giant ORC 3

dizzydy

Apr 5, 2007
Hello all, I am a newbie that needs your opinions to help me decide what bike to get. After some searching around I have found two bikes that look like they fit my needs and my budget.

I will be using the bicycle to join some of the lbs rides and some charity rides. I don't see competition in the very near future. I am male, 5'6 and 120lbs, and there are considerable hills around my area.

The LBS that carries the Scott is offering free maintainance for life (I'm guessing minor stuff like brake/gear adjustments and such) and the other one carrying the Giant has the same offer for just the first year. Both of the bikes feel good when I am on them but the Scott looks a little more wicked :p If it has anything to do with it.

Sott Speedster S60 - $620 USD
Giant OCR 3 - $650 USD

So here are the Specs and where I need your experienced comments because most of this is pigeon talk to me.
GIANT OCR 3
frame ALUXX butted aluminum, Compact Road Design
fork formulaOne Composite w/aluminum steerer
handlebar 6061 Alloy W:short reach / shallow drop
stem 6061 alloy Adjustable
seatpost Alloy 27.2x350mm
saddle M: Selle Royal Viper W: Sell Royal Viper for Women
pedals Caged w/ Clips
shifters Shimano Sora
front derailleur Shimano Sora
rear derailleur Shimano Sora
brakes TK521AG long reach
brake levers Shimano Sora
cassette SRAM PG850 M: 12-26 8-speed W: 12-27 8-speed
chain KMC Z72
cranks FSACK400SST
bb BB7420
rims DA22
hubs Alloy Sealed Bearing
spokes Stainless Steel
tires Kenda Kontender 700x25

SCOTT SPEEDSTER S60

22 lbs

Frame
Alloy tubing 7005 P.G.
Road geometry
Integrated headtube
Fork Alloy / 1 1/8" / steel steerer
Headset Integrated steel cup
Derailleur (Rear) Shimano RD 2200 / 24 speed
Derailleur (Front) Shimano FD 2203 - F
Shifters Shimano Sora ST-2200
Dual Control
Brake Levers Integrated
Brakes Scott Comp SCBR-350
Crankset Truvativ ISOFLOW 30x42x52T
BB-Set Truvativ 07BB 68mm shell / 113mm spindle