seat post question

Discussion in 'Mountain Bikes' started by Steve Gibson, Apr 21, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Steve Gibson

Steve Gibson Guest

Hello,

I am new to mountain biking and I have a question hopefully someone can help me with. I am a heavy
    rider, and I am having problems keeping the seat and seat post kept up at the right height. Is there
    any thing that I can do to help me out (beside losing weight) I am already doing that by riding. I
    didn't know if there was an insert you could put in, or a clamp you could buy, any help would be
    appreciated, thank you very much and thank you in advance,

Steve

Tags:

2. Andy Chequer

Andy Chequer Guest

"Steve Gibson" <[email protected]> wrote in message
    news:[email protected]...
    > Hello,
    >
    > I am new to mountain biking and I have a question hopefully someone can
    help
    > me with. I am a heavy rider, and I am having problems keeping the seat
    and
    > seat post kept up at the right height. Is there any thing that I can do
    to
    > help me out (beside losing weight) I am already doing that by riding. I didn't know if there was
    > an insert you could put in, or a clamp you could buy, any help would be appreciated, thank you
    > very much and thank you in advance,
    >
    > Steve

No matter what your weight, the seatpost should not slip.

Possibly

1) The seatpost is too small for the bike. In which case get the correct size.

2) The seat QR/bolt (you don't specify which) is crap. In which case get a new one that isn't.

3) The frame is damaged and cannot grip the post. Solutions to this may vary from squeezing the top
    of the seat tube in slightly, through reaming out the seat tube to scrapping the frame and a few
    others besides.

Google groups searches of alt.mountain-bike and rec.bicycles.tech should give you some insight. If
    the problem is the area of 3 above, think carefully before you do anything rash.

Andy Chequer