Seats For Larger Folk

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Michael J. McNa

Hello,

I'm a newbie mountain biker.

I'm 6' 2" tall and 295lbs. I'm riding a Cannondale Gemini 900.

I'm not athletic enough yet to keep raised out of the seat for prolonged periods of time and my
"nether region" is going numb (until I raise out of the seat and it hurts like hell). The anatomical
seat on my brother's Specialized Rock Hopper seems better, but not what I would call comfy.

Are there any larger folk (or formerly larger folk) in my size range who have found and can
recommend a more comfy seat suitable for mountain biking?

Enjoying the trail regardless -

Mike Mc

Michael J. McNamara II wrote:
> Hello,
>
> I'm a newbie mountain biker.

> I'm 6' 2" tall and 295lbs. I'm riding a Cannondale Gemini 900.

Isn't that Gemini that "hybrid" that came with disc brakes and w/ 700c-road _and_ 26"-dirt wheels?

Visit: http://www.sheldonbrown.com/saddles.html

"ClydesdaleMTB" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:[email protected]...
>
>
> Michael J. McNamara II wrote:
> > Hello,
> >
> > I'm a newbie mountain biker.
>
> > I'm 6' 2" tall and 295lbs. I'm riding a Cannondale Gemini 900.
>
> Isn't that Gemini that "hybrid" that came with disc brakes and w/ 700c-road _and_ 26"-dirt wheels?

Its their "freeride" bike. http://www.cannondale.com/bikes/03/cusa/model-3VG9.html

You're probably thinking of their Bad-Boy model, although I'm not sure about the two-wheelset deal.

Jon Bond

Michael J. McNamara II wrote:
> Hello,
>
>
>
> I'm not athletic enough yet to keep raised out of the seat for prolonged periods of time and
> my "nether region" is going numb (until I raise out of the seat and it hurts like hell). The
> anatomical seat on my brother's Specialized Rock Hopper seems better, but not what I would
> call comfy.
>
> Are there any larger folk (or formerly larger folk) in my size range who have found and can
> recommend a more comfy seat suitable for mountain biking?
>