Second hand road bike for uni on a tiny budget

Tazz56

Jun 8, 2017
Hey everyone; hope you're all doing well

I'm a uni student looking for a road bike (to start on) on an extremely small budget (up to maybe £60ish), and found a Carlton Circuit vintage road bike for £45- http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/carlton-circuit-vintage-road-bike/322523279426

I was wondering whether I could ask yourselves on whether you would go for this bike if in my position?
My budget limits me to mostly unfavourable options, but I would much rather save myself the money and walk rather than buy something that would most likely turn out to be a BSO.

"Vintage" is one of the most over used words in 2nd hand sales today.
Usually used to squeeze more profit out of things that are old, but otherwise nothing special.
For utility minded riding, get a utility minded bike. That means fenders and a rack. Will that one have room enough for fenders? Can it take a rack?
Arriving with a "racing stripe" of road-castoff will get old real fast.
Satchels and shoulder bags are well known to cause/contribute to accidents by swinging around and interfering with riding. Hanging something off the bar is even worse. Backpacks make you sweaty in short order.
I'm not a fan of cottered cranks. Too easy to damage the cotters on removal.
Are the spokes Stainless or Galvanized?
The setup looks funky. Saddle shouldnt be that far forward. Gel saddles only help by masking problems. Might be OK for shorter rides.
Check the tooth count. Many road bikes are geared too high to work well for casual use.
Price as such doesn't look too bad.

Reactions: Tazz56