Senior project cycling?

lostcause89

Jun 21, 2007
I am a high school student and need to choose an idea for the senior project.

I would like to do it on cycling, but with me being only a recreational cyclist with limited connections, I am finding it quite difficult to come up with ideas. Not only do we have to write a paper, but we also have to also come up a product.

All I can seem to manage for a topic is bicycle safety.

Any suggestions

I think I heard somewhere that single speed messenger bikes that don't use brakes, have to have them now, that could be easy to do, if there enough info on them

lostcause89 said:

I would like to do it on cycling, but with me being only a recreational cyclist with limited connections, I am finding it quite difficult to come up with ideas. Not only do we have to write a paper, but we also have to also come up a product.

Any suggestions
How about jerseys that are very high visibility but are stylish. Those orange vests I see commuters wear are Fred-like.

I have a Saunier-Duval jersey that I don't mind wearing if I intend to ride on a high traffic road. The combination of bright yellow, white, and black really stands out.

lostcause89 said:

Any suggestions
Relationship between cyclists and other road users - could write a million words on that with some ugly stories I'm sure

/k

build some trails. talk to the people who are in charge of your town and see if you can get some help. as a last resort you can build benches in your local park. good luck.

I like the bright jersey suggestion. Why not investigate the colours that stand out the most at a distance, report your research, and propose development of cycling jerseys in those colours as your product.

Personally, I think the most visible colours are pink and screaming yellow, followed closely by a bright white. Tough to find though in a form fitting jersey.