Sentimental attachment to bikes?

Discussion in 'The Bike Cafe' started by xxamr_corpxx, Apr 1, 2007.

1. xxamr_corpxx

xxamr_corpxx New Member

I find myself wanting to find my old 10 speed again - complete with stem shifters, 27 inch tyres, and chrome steel rims, with a pink and grey colour scheme. It was the bike that I first learned to ride on the roads with and the first time I broke 30km was on that bike.

I sold it a year or so back, and now I'm wishing I hadn't.

Anyone else have a "special bike"?

Tags:

2. OoAmericanGirl

OoAmericanGirl New Member

When I graduated from high school, my dad got me a Trek 1000 as a graduation present. It was my first road bike and I rode it alot, but it ended up in the garage for several years. One day I decided that I wanted to start riding agan. I spent alot of time training and eventually I fell in love with a full carbon frame. My old Trek had no carbon, tiagra shifters, and was too big for me. It was eventually traded for my new bike, felt f5c. I do wonder what has happened to that bike.

3. Scotty_Dog

Scotty_Dog New Member

I still own my first 10 speed bike I received on my 13th birthday: a Ross Adventurer from the early 1980's. Everything is original except tires and handlebar tape, as it sat untouched in my parents' shed for about 20 years. I stripped it down, repacked the BB and wheels, cleaned and adjusted everything, hand polished the chrome wheels and put on new tires. It now gets an occasional leisurely spin around my neighborhood.

It weighs a ton and is not worth much money, but provides me with plenty of fond memories. I mainly remember using the bike for transportation to and from my junior high school girlfriend's house - an invaluable resource at the time. It was like a time trial every ride to her house: fast as I could to get there, and fast as I could to get home and beat curfew.

4. Nasgul

Nasgul New Member