Serious Training

psychotica21

Jun 21, 2003
I guess this is mostly applied toward those who hav been racing for a while. I am a college student (21 female) who recently got involved with my road cycling team. I am basically an endurance athlete. I ran track and Cross Country and many road races but cycling seems to intrigue me so much more. I am really interested in devoting all of my time and really training to hopefully make some sort of team after I graduate next year. I hope to be able to make a professional team in the future. I know a lot about training for long distance running but I am kind of at a loss for endurance cycling (stage racing). This summer should be the time I am building my base and I know it requires hours and hours on the bike. However, I am unsure of what the quality of those rides should be?
Running wise I run about 17:30 5K and 5:05 mile and 41:00 10K. I have seen many books availble about women's cycling but none of them seem all that informative. Thanks so much

psychotica21,

congratulations on your move into the best sport -- cycling! there's quite a few posts on training on this forum, and the importance of getting a coach, who will be able to guide you in the right direction and help prevent you from making common mistakes.

there's also a good question and answer page over at cyclingnews.com (http://www.cyclingnews.com/fitness) and some articles there.

There's some articles here too: http://www.cyclecoach.com/tips.htm

and, of course if you have any questions feel free to post them here, and the coaches and scientists (myself, 2Lap, and Maarten) and the others will be only too glad to hopefully help.

Cheers
Ric

I have a son who just turned 14. He has been speedskating for about 1.5 years
and recently took an interest in cycling. Although there is no junior team where we live, my husband continued taking him to ride with the older aged cycling clubs and soon he was being offered sponsorships.