Setting up a cycling garage/storage area

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by Walrus, Nov 23, 2006.

1. Walrus

Walrus New Member

I'm building a house which will have a double garage. There will be 2 cars in the garage, but one of them is very small, and will only take up 2/3 of 1 side. In the remaining space, I want to construct the ultimate bike area to store, admire and work on my bikes.

If you were doing this, what sorts of cool things would you include. I have 3 bikes, multiple wheelsets and lots of parts. I'm not an advanced mechanic, so I just do the typical minor adjustments and servicing.

My current thoughts are:
    - Work bench
    - Bench mounted repair stand
    - Wheel truing stand
    - Draws in the bench for tools, parts and clothes
    - Shelf on the wall for cycling magazines and other parts
    - Wall mounted bike rack (need to cater 3 bikes) - I like the racks that hold 2 bikes, 1 low, 1 up high
    - Rods to hold wheelsets - I was thinking of bolting some rods perpendicular to the wall, so I can hang the wheels on them for easy access/switching.

What other sorts of things would be good? I've never had the luxury of having this much room.

Tags:
    pixgermany01 likes this.

2. Retro Grouch

Retro Grouch New Member

1. I think that storing the bikes drives everything else. I hang mine by either the front or rear wheels. That's pretty compact but they still stick out about 4' from the wall.

2. Think about your floor surface. It's good to have something that it's easy to clean chain lube off of. It's also nice to have something that makes it easy to find all of the little screws and ball bearings and such that you drop so the new speckled garage floor surfaces might not be so great.

3. I mounted my wheel trueing stand onto a piece of board. That makes it portable so it's not in the way when I'm not using it.

4. There is no such thing as too much light.