Setting up a cycling garage/storage area

Walrus

Apr 4, 2004
I'm building a house which will have a double garage. There will be 2 cars in the garage, but one of them is very small, and will only take up 2/3 of 1 side. In the remaining space, I want to construct the ultimate bike area to store, admire and work on my bikes.

If you were doing this, what sorts of cool things would you include. I have 3 bikes, multiple wheelsets and lots of parts. I'm not an advanced mechanic, so I just do the typical minor adjustments and servicing.

My current thoughts are:
- Work bench
- Bench mounted repair stand
- Wheel truing stand
- Draws in the bench for tools, parts and clothes
- Shelf on the wall for cycling magazines and other parts
- Wall mounted bike rack (need to cater 3 bikes) - I like the racks that hold 2 bikes, 1 low, 1 up high
- Rods to hold wheelsets - I was thinking of bolting some rods perpendicular to the wall, so I can hang the wheels on them for easy access/switching.

What other sorts of things would be good? I've never had the luxury of having this much room.

Reactions: pixgermany01
Walrus said:
I'm building a house which will have a double garage. There will be 2 cars in the garage, but one of them is very small, and will only take up 2/3 of 1 side. In the remaining space, I want to construct the ultimate bike area to store, admire and work on my bikes.

If you were doing this, what sorts of cool things would you include. I have 3 bikes, multiple wheelsets and lots of parts. I'm not an advanced mechanic, so I just do the typical minor adjustments and servicing.

My current thoughts are:
- Work bench
- Wheel truing stand
- Wall mounted bike rack (need to cater 3 bikes) - I like the racks that hold 2 bikes, 1 low, 1 up high
- Rods to hold wheelsets - I was thinking of bolting some rods perpendicular to the wall, so I can hang the wheels on them for easy access/switching.