Setting up suspension

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Squid-In-Traini

Skareb Comp with preload/rebound. I have preload sorted, but what about rebound? How do I
really know how much rebound damping to put on? Usually rooty conditions with mostly smoother
legs in between.

I have some knowledge of road motorcycle damping... does this apply here? Darsh any input?

--
Phil, Squid-in-Training

"Phil, Squid-in-Training" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]...
> Skareb Comp with preload/rebound. I have preload sorted, but what about rebound? How do I really
> know how much rebound damping to put on?
Usually
> rooty conditions with mostly smoother legs in between.
>
> I have some knowledge of road motorcycle damping... does this apply here? Darsh any input?
>
> --
> Phil, Squid-in-Training

Too much rebound damping: fork will blow through its travel on short stutter bumps - like lots of
roots at speed. Not enough: pogo city. Right: somewhere in between - usually just enough so it won't
blow through its travel, and then maybe a little more depending on personal preference.

Jon Bond

news:[email protected]...
> Skareb Comp with preload/rebound. I have preload sorted, but what about rebound? How do I really
> know how much rebound damping to put on?
Usually
> rooty conditions with mostly smoother legs in between.
>
> I have some knowledge of road motorcycle damping... does this apply here? Darsh any input?
>
> --
> Phil, Squid-in-Training
>
>

I've got the same forks. I'm damned if I can see a whole lot of effect adjusting the damping on
these puppies. As the good Commander said, you don't want the rebound being too slow. Otherwise, it
will compress 2 steps, rebound 1 step and then compress another 2 steps with each successive hit on
those roots of yours. It ends up bottoming out before it's had a chance to extend between hits. Nor
do you want it to extend so fast that you bounce up and down like a Jack-in-the-Box.