Severe Leg Problem

Synpax

Sep 11, 2004
Hi,

I am new to cycling - picking it up to do triathlons. I've recently been doing longer and longer rides. I use to get a little soreness in both legs after riding.

This soreness was in the area on the back of the legs around but not involving the knee itself. Kind of in those muscles/tendons around it. The soreness was exaggerated when going up stairs.

Ok, last week, when I started my long ride, the pain got to be really HORRID in the left leg (it was gone from the right). The pain is most excrutiating going from 9 to 12 - even when I'm not using any pressure - it's just the motion. And it's slightly different in where it is happening - this is strictly just below the knee joint rather than half below half above.

So it was feeling better through the week as I cut back the running and biking this week and went out for my brick today.

The 2 hour run went great. No problems.

But within two miles, the problem was back with a vengeance.

Any suggestions? i think I can run just fine. What is causing this?

My coach suggested the seat might be too high, so I lowered it today but this didn't help.

Synpax said:
Hi,

I am new to cycling - picking it up to do triathlons. I've recently been doing longer and longer rides. I use to get a little soreness in both legs after riding.

This soreness was in the area on the back of the legs around but not involving the knee itself. Kind of in those muscles/tendons around it. The soreness was exaggerated when going up stairs.

Ok, last week, when I started my long ride, the pain got to be really HORRID in the left leg (it was gone from the right). The pain is most excrutiating going from 9 to 12 - even when I'm not using any pressure - it's just the motion. And it's slightly different in where it is happening - this is strictly just below the knee joint rather than half below half above.