Shimano 105

GT Fanatic

Apr 15, 2010
First off, I'm not a bicycle mechanic, but I feel like over the past month and a half of owning this particular bicycle, I'm starting to learn a lot, and I'm not meaning this from the positive end of the spectrum.

I bought a 2010 Schwinn Paramount Series 7 on June 21st, and it had nothing but shifting issues with the Shimano 105 componentry. I had it back and forth to numerous shops no fewer than 10 times within that period of time.

The chain would slip while climbing steeper grades, the gears would slip either or down while climbing those same steep grades, if all of the rear gears worked right when the front chainring was in one gear, they wouldn't work in the other (it didn't matter whether it was the large chainring or the small one), rear gears would skip and hunt, I'd have to tap the shifter twice to get a gear to switch, etc.

I finally had enough of hearing, "Just fine-tune the barrel adjusters," or "There's a break-in period." I had ridden this bicycle no fewer than 200 miles since purchase. I'd say that's more than enough time for a "break-in period." Not to mention, the additional costs from having to trek this bike from one bicycle shop to the next, some of which were 50 miles away.

On Tuesday morning I returned to Performance Bike upon their customer service department's request and exchanged the bike for a replacement. I rode the replacement bike around the parking lot, trying out the gears, and they seemed to work okay, but the problem is that there aren't many hills in Fairfax, VA. To simulate a hill, I'd press the rear brake to build drag, and everything worked fine.

I got home with the bike, went out for a spin, and sure enough, everything went to Hell. Once again, I'm having issues with the bicycle, and they are the SAME, EXACT ISSUES as I was dealing with before! :mad: