Shimano Flight Deck frequent STOPS!

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by ottoman, Sep 18, 2003.

  1. ottoman

    ottoman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Quite frequently and randomly my flight deck 'Trip Time' STOPS!

    The computer continues to record overall distance, it's just that, for NO apparent reason, it stops recording untill I notice it and then I have to cycle through the buttons to start it up. Needless to say it destroys my trip data.

    I am absolutely positive I did not press any buttons.

    Anybody else have problems with there computer stopping.
     
    Tags:


  2. king_matt87

    king_matt87 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    know what ur doing is pressing the S/S left buttom and it stop ur distance i have done that a few times on me old ShimaNO it's good for time trails because it stops the trip time aswell but a bugger when ur out training. i rember Flight deck has 2 modes one with like clock distance ect/ the other with cadence stop watch . so if u bump the S/S buttom in the wrong mode go to ur trip time and make sure the counter is going if not press S/S(yer when i got me flight deck me mates looked at it before i went training and i never new how far i went they pressed the button). i got a new bike since then i use Campagnolo Record now Ergo Brain realy good all u do is ride it and it will wok out how many teeth are in ur casset my ur cadence so if u get a flat in a race with a 11-23 and and change to a 13-26 it will work this out real quick. and it lights up at night.
     
  3. ottoman

    ottoman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am absolutely positive I am not pushing the S/S left button. I have been very conscious of that by keeping my hands away from the button and the computer will still stop at will.
     
  4. big_h

    big_h New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    I had the same problem and slipped a thickish o-ring of the correct size between the STi body and the rubber hood to protect the button form my hands. My problem is now solved. I noticed that when I climb on stand up in the saddle I clench the hoods and then possibly and inadvertedly press the Lhs button. I also swore by it that I did not press the button. As I said problem solved.

    Big H
     
  5. king_matt87

    king_matt87 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    or it's just broken becaus it shimano
     
Loading...
Loading...