Shimano Flight Deck

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by paul_round, Aug 4, 2012.

  1. paul_round

    paul_round New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Shimano Flight Deck, that has given many good years of service, however today it stopped registering the speed, gear changes were being registered fine.
    It is in a wired harness, anybody have any suggestions as to where to start troubleshooting?
     
    Tags:


  2. alfeng

    alfeng Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,726
    Likes Received:
    125
    When was the last time you changed the battery?
     
  3. paul_round

    paul_round New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's still on it's original, but surely if the battery was duff, it wouldn't be registering the time or gear changes?
     
  4. alfeng

    alfeng Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,726
    Likes Received:
    125
    Aspects of the Flight Deck will continue to function until you see the LOW BATTERY indication ...

    At which point you will have only about three minutes to install a new battery before losing all of the settings on a 9-speed Flight Deck!

    • maybe the settings are retained on the 10-speed Flight Decks ...
    • regardless, some people suggest that the battery be changed on an annual basis ...
    • I am USUALLY not smart enough to remember to carry a spare battery with me when I go on THE ride when the battery decides to die ...
    • consequently, I recommend that you change the battery at the next earliest opportunity ...

    After changing the battery, the odds are very high that your Flight Deck will be fully functional, again.
     
  5. paul_round

    paul_round New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I shall do just that and let you know.
     
  6. paul_round

    paul_round New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, new battery, no change.
     
  7. alfeng

    alfeng Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,726
    Likes Received:
    125
    I have gotten what I consider to have been marginal batteries from Radio Shack & WalMart (the worse of the two having been from RS) in the past ...

    I had ONE Flight Deck harness "go bad" ...

    So, if you are certain the magnet & sensor are aligned properly AND the wiring wasn't damaged then you will probably have to contact Shimano's CUSTOMER SERVICE to see what they suggest.
     
  8. paul_round

    paul_round New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sensor and magnet alignment has not changed, one thing though, can the magnetic sender "go off".just removed it and it won't stick to any metal.
     
  9. alienator

    alienator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    12,596
    Likes Received:
    160
    They're only attracted to ferrous metal: iron, steel,.......
     
  10. alfeng

    alfeng Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,726
    Likes Received:
    125
    If you have a "refrigerator" (or, equivalent) magnet, then wave it past the Flight Deck sensor on your fork to see if it registers MPH.
     
  11. shadowrider

    shadowrider New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the exact problem with not one, but two Flight Decks. Both worked great for years. Now, gears are shown, but no distance or time. Have changed batteries on both. Certain that sensor is properly aligned. Have not been able to find replacement parts, because the model is the old "two buttons on right shifter versus newer models, which have one button on each shifter. Please post, if yiu solve the problem and get yours working.
     
  12. kdelong

    kdelong Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,477
    Likes Received:
    74
    Try pushing the AC button on the head unit to reset the computer then reenter your info and see if that fixes it. There is a lot of Flight Deck equipment available on eBay at fairly reasonable prices.
     
Loading...
Loading...