shimano flightdeck nightmares

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

Dan Baker

...just a rant against shimano 6501 flightdecks. in case anyone is considering getting one, dont.

Mine, and most other people I know in the tandem club, have found them less than reliable, and
generally hard to use even when they ARE working. They have crummy buttons, are very hard
(non-intuitive) to setup, and break without warning and with alarming frequency.

Unfortunately, they are also about the only way to get a visual indication of what gear you are in
on a tandem equipped with STI shifters. Which brings me to the actual technical question....

Does anyone know of a good alternative? its pretty hard to see the rear cassette on a tandem from
the front seat!

Also, does anyone have any suggestion on how best to get Shimano to listen to how crummy these
things are and either fix them or take them back? I've been fooling around with mine for 4 months
now, written emails and letters to Shimano with NO response at all.

anyway, I am looking forward to hearing if there are alternatives to visual indication of current
gear position on a tandem....

dan

"dan baker" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]...
> ...just a rant against shimano 6501 flightdecks. in case anyone is considering getting one, dont.
>
> Mine, and most other people I know in the tandem club, have found them less than reliable, and
> generally hard to use even when they ARE working. They have crummy buttons, are very hard
> (non-intuitive) to setup, and break without warning and with alarming frequency.

< rest of post snipped ... >

Gee, I have ridden a 6500 Flightdeck for five years and thousands of miles and never had one bit of
trouble. Followed procedures in the manual and found it easy to set up, have had no trouble with
buttons and it's never once malfunctioned.

Are all the ones in your tandem club installed or setup by the same shop? I know it's really