Shimano M545 pedals release too easily...

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

David Obando

Hello All,

Just looking for some information as I am new to clipless pedals and don't have enough historical
info to draw from...

I purchased the Shimano SH-M545 pedals (they have a small cage for riding when you're not clipped-in
or if you're wearing regular shoes) and the Shoes are Shimano M-082's

I installed the cleats into the shoes as per instructions and over the next hour or so after that
experimented with the clip tension while riding the bike on rollers in the garage...

First have to mention that the difference after going from regular pedals to clipless is astounding!
Its difficult to describe to someone just how much energy and how much of a distraction it is to
devote any amount of mental and physical energy worrying wbout your foot position or worse, losing
foot position... I found during the testing that because spinning was so much easier and utilized
more muscles in a more effecient manner I was able to maintain cadence for a significantly longer
period of time before getting fatigued...

But to the point...

Releasing from the pedals seem a bit "too" easy even with the spring tension set to max (all red
showing on the indicator and the screw bottomed out) If I maintain foot position within the limits
of float on the pedals there seems to be a reasonable force holding me in, but it only takes a VERY
light flick of the ankle to pop out... And whats worse, at the bottom of the stroke, if I pull
straight back with any authority, I can pull out of the pedal straight back with marginal ease...

These are the black (sh-51?) cleats that are supposed to be twist out only as opposed to the silver
versions which I hear have multiple release methods and directions.

So to sum up, they feel fairly solid, but don't evoke a great deal of confidence over rough terrain
and getting jarred from the pedals on landings or from pulling the foot straight back...