Shin splint or more serious?

Discussion in 'General Fitness' started by John R . Rybock, Sep 18, 2003.

1. Hey all. I was just sharing my experience with my knee, and decided to ask about a new probklem
    I'm having:

Basically, my shin is hurting. It is basically just towards the inside of the left shin (if you're
    looking down on the round bone, it's at about 2 o'clock) about halfway down (or up). Basically, it
    comes and goes, and when it hurts, it hurts when weight is placed on it. It could hurt for 10
    minutes, then go away, or as long as 60. But it goes away.

Yesterday was the worst. I'm a cook, and in the middle of my shift, I needed to get replaced on the
    line - I couldn't move on the left leg. But within an hour, I was walking fine.

I've been checking out running sites for common injuries, and most of course list shin splints.
    A few list alternatives that might be misdiagnosed, including hairline fracture. But nothing
    seems to fit. The pain is pretty sharp, is in a specific area. But pressure on the area, either
    during an "attack" or not does not produce any pain, and I can't feel anything out of the
    ordinary in the area.

Does this ring any bells with anyone? And if so, any advice. So far, I've not had any problems
    during a run, even on a 20 mile long run in preparation for an Oct 18 marathon. I certainly don't
    want to push myself to getting hurt, but the expense of a doctor is a bit much for me at the moment,
    and would like to see if I can treat it myself.

Thanks in advance for any advice given.

Tags:

2. Perdy Tired

Perdy Tired Guest

"John R. Rybock" <[email protected]> wrote in message
    news:[email protected]...
    > Hey all. I was just sharing my experience with my knee, and decided to ask
    about a new probklem I'm
    > having:
    >
    > Basically, my shin is hurting. It is basically just towards the inside of
    the left shin (if you're