Shoes and Pedals

Paul Dombrowski

Mar 30, 2013
I just bought a new Fuji bike and am considering getting shoes and pedals for the first time. I have been riding without them for like 10 years. Any suggestions for a first time clipper?

Campy or Look pedals? shimaNO if you already have that stuff on your bike and want to match up. All three are very good pedals IMO. Try cleats with float before attempting no-float cleats unless you are good at dialing stuff in quickly. There must be fifty pedal systems on the market and they all have their fans. I prefer the platforms found on the Campy/Look (builders of Campy pedals) and shimaNO systems. Everyone has their favs...take Speedplay for example. I do not care for them, but they are top notch stuff.

Shoes? They absolutely must be tried on and fitted 'in person' if you ask me. Buy whatever is comfortable and fits. If it looks good to you and you really like the shoestrings/ratchets/wires/knobs/velcro...so much the better.

Wear them for an extended period in the store. Tighten them. Loosen them. Walk the carpet. Drink a cup of coffee in them. After feeling good in them for awhile, take them home and mount your cleats. Got a trainer? Start indoors if you can. Don't be afraid to go thru lots of attempts to get them where they feel 'right'.

A little blue Loctite on the cleat screws will keep them in place while you play around with cleat position. Only after I get mine fully dialed in do I gives the screws a real torque down.

If you buy pedals with adjustable release tension, keep the setting somewhat on the low side until you get familiar with clipping out at the last second. This helps avoid those Laugh In falls at red lights and stop signs.

Good luck! I predict you'll enjoy riding in clipless pedals and a comfortable cycling shoe.

Paul Dombrowski said: