Shoes - cross training

endurancemom

Feb 5, 2010
I guess I would consider myself a fitness cyclist. I enjoy bike tours (non competitive) and just riding around towns and countrysides. I'm working on increasing my mileage this year and plan to be in several more tours than last year.

I've been riding for a few years now and have always worn just regular tennishoes. I've been thinking about getting one of the more casual cycling shoes pairs - the ones that look more like a hiking shoe than a pro cycling shoe. What I'm looking for is also to be able to wear the same shoe when I do my indoor cycling and weight training. The weights are just 1 to 2 days a week. I've read that cycling shoes make for a more efficient ride. I don't want to spend a lot on the shoes - saw the casual pairs in the 50 to 60 range which is fine..

What are your thoughts? Any other riders out there with similar riding schedules to mine? What do you wear?

Originally Posted by endurancemom .
I've been riding for a few years now and have always worn just regular tennishoes.

What are your thoughts? Any other riders out there with similar riding schedules to mine? What do you wear?
I am just wondering... what do you wear to play tennis in?

I guess on the surface it would only make good sense... bowling shoes for bowling, golf shoes for golf, basketball shoes for B-Ball, running shoes for running, steel-toe shoes at the construction site.... and so on and so forth.

There are plenty of good reasons for wearing cycling shoes when cycling and for NOT wearing them when weight lifting.