Should I cycle my way to college?

Idane

Aug 9, 2013
I know that most of y'all might say yes considering the Forum I've adventured myself on! But the problem is that it's already pretty close to autumn, soon it will rain etc.

The distance from my dorm room to the university is 9 km (around 5.6 miles?)... so back and forth would make it a total of 18 km each day. Problem being not the distance in itself (especially since the ENTIRE distance has a special road made for bicycles next to the actual car road), but the fact that I am a complete novice. I can't really remember the last time I used a bike, all I know is that I sort-of can ride it without much difficulty except for complex turns.

Do you think I would be able to handle this without bathing in my own sweat by the time I reach the institution, or should I just take the bus for the first week and do the ride separately until I get used to it? (The bus is VERY expensive for me though... And not sure if the uni will give me my money back if I buy a monthly pass.)

Also how long do you estimate I would take considering the road circumstances, my novice status and the fact that I would most likely be getting a medium to small bike (since I'm rather short...)?

Thanks in advance.

You can easily bike 10 kms in under 1 hour just starting out.
It should only take 1/2 hour after you are used to the bike.

on rainy days pick up the bus, for cold weather use gloves and a head warmer (it could be specific to cycling or normal winter apparel) i have to say that having a bicycles only trail for the complete commute is really great, you should take advantage of it, i have mixed feelings about the distance, its not long but then it is not short either, good for bike commuting though