should i give it a try?

kjaf

May 28, 2010
Hey, guys I am fairly new to cycling I got started late last year. I did some pretty fast group rides, and rode pretty frequently but when winter came i basically stopped riding. Now that summer is finally here I am back on the bike, but I am nowhere near what I was at prior to winter.

Basically I have been trying to ride around 1-2 hrs a day and been keeping track of my performance. I ride in Indiana not very hilly, but sometimes it does get windy and after each ride I have been taking my avg speed from my cyclometer (among other things) and its ussually around 16 mph. Now I am in stop and go traffic so that prolly lowers it a little, ussually when I look down when I am riding I try to stay around 17/18 mph, and when I did my group ride a little bit ago we were a little over 20 mph.

Now after all that basically my question is do you think by late July/august I will be good enough to enter myself into a CAT 5 race and stay with the pack. I have always been very athletic, but I just don't know if I will be able to get into peak condition for a race 2/3 months from now. I plan to keep riding at least 5/6 times a week, but I dont want to enter myself into a race and be made a fool of lol. SO i dont know if I should wait another year and this time keep training through winter, or should I just give it a go 3 months from now and see where I stack up.

Any help would be appreciated and if anyone has any tips or tools on how to get into peek shape in that amount of time I would love to hear it.

Thank you much!

Absolutely give it a go! Most people get dropped in their first race anyways. It is kind of like a right of passage. Give racing a shot becuase you can only get into race shape by racing and the more you do it the faster you will get.

Happy Riding:)