Should i give up rugby and give way for cycling?

CycleLad99

Apr 16, 2016
Ireland
Hi Guys,
I started playing rugby in January and haven't even played a match yet. I enjoy watching matches but I have been thinking and I am now scared of all the I juries such as head injuries brain trauma and especially muscle I juries which may stop me from cycling also. So should I give it up and join a cycling club instead to devote my time to? How can I tell the club I want to give up and also my mom and dad? I have been telling all of these I am enjoying it but really I am really nervous about all these injuries. I just need to know how to tell them I like race cycling instead? They'll probably think I can't keep up something and won't allow me spend money on a bike and gear. How can I convince them?

Thanks

Give it a try first before you cross it out completely. I think you are just suffering from stage fright. One thing doesn't impede the other, you can easily do the two.

Reactions: CycleLad99
Well, I was going to say don't give up one thing for another... you can always do both! But, if you're afraid of injury then maybe rugby isn't the right sport for you, as it it pretty tough. But, at the end of the day the choice is yours! Do what you think is best... if rugby isn't for you try cycling.

If you actually have the mannersto switch to cycling then go ahead and do it , if I were you I woulddefinitely do it no doubts,

Rugby is one of the toughest sports around. It is even brutal at some point so if you think that you can get hurt your mindset can produce some kind of shield that can slow you down and make you go easy in the contact play and with that attitude you won't get far in rugby. I'm just saying it is possible. Cycling is tough in so many different ways. You need your mental strength as well as the physical. The stress that bikers go through is unbelievable.