Should I ride everyday?

Discussion in 'Cycling Training' started by rumptis, Sep 22, 2004.

1. rumptis

rumptis New Member

I have only been riding a few months and I try and ride every other day. I'm doing usually 20 miles on each ride about 80% flat with a avg of 17 mph. I'm wondering if it would do me any good to ride everyday if I have the time. I do notice that the day after I ride I don't feel near as good as I do the 2nd day when I ride again which I figure is normal. I just don't want to over do it since I'm still new to this.

Thanks for any Advice.

Tags:

2. tanggoman

tanggoman New Member

You can ride everyday, but to be on the safe side, put some variety on your rides. What I mean is that, do your 17mph ride every other day and on, say, Tues and Thu, do it below that speed. You dont want to hit a plateau early. Enjoy your ride, the scenery and be safe.

3. rumptis

rumptis New Member

what do you mean by hitting a Plateau early?

Thanks for the quick responce.

4. greenmig

greenmig New Member

Read Lances book "7 weeks to the perfect ride". He is adamant that active recovery in between races and / or hard training rides is better than sitting on the couch. The key is to do +70% of your rides at 60-65% of your max HR. Recovery rides only need to be 45mins long too - I find them very enjoyable as they are low stress and you know they are making you stronger for your next race :). In saying all this I think that throwing in maybe 1 day a week as a complete rest day is not too bad a thing either.

5. Smartt/RST

Smartt/RST New Member

As has been mentioned, active recovery (<70% of max HR for 30-60min) is generally better than complete rest, and should be included in your schedule more often than not. However, you should absolutely include complete rest days into your overall program as well, as it does have benefits for cyclists of all levels.