Shox/fork measurements?

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by mortimer, Jul 31, 2007.

1. mortimer

mortimer New Member

ok, i'm new to this so please be understanding. I have an old GT Tequesta from '92 i beleive. In great condition. Have had it since it was new. Anyway I really like this bike but since it has no suspension what so ever I am looking at forks. Rockshox, Manitou or whatever. Problem is the sizes are a bit confusing. I still have my brochure when I was looking for the bike way back when. It does say that it is 1 1/8" oversize sealed mech. Don't know what the sealed mech means. And doesn't give a length for the stem. How can I measure it And anything else I need to look for. I tried emailing GT but they have no information before 2000 or something like that. Thanks

Tags:

2. mortimer

mortimer New Member

Can anyone help me here please?

3. Scotty_Dog

Scotty_Dog New Member

I believe you currently have a threadless 1-1/8" headset and fork combo, but it wouldn't hurt to disassemble and measure it. If it is in fact 1-1/8" threadless, you could replace it with virtually any modern suspension fork with rim brake bosses. To keep the frame geometry somewhat normal, choose a fork with minimal total travel.

On another note, good suspension forks can easily cost $250 and up. I wouldn't spend that money on a 15 year old bike with 15 year old components and technology. I'd keep your bike as is, making minimal repairs only when needed, and save your money for a newer bike.

4. alfeng

alfeng Well-Known Member

Actually, you probably have a threaded fork.

What you need is the suspension fork of your choice + a threadless headset (e.g., Cane Creek ... good value for the money) + threadless stem.