Sidi Ergo carbon

peterwright

Mar 5, 2003
Does anyone have any experinece with the Sidi Ergo carbon shoe ? I know its pretty new but looks like a good shoe.

Originally posted by peterwright
Does anyone have any experience with the Sidi Ergo carbon shoe ? I know its pretty new but looks like a good shoe.

I've been using the Sidi Genius 4 (Mega) for a couple of years now, and as far as my feet are concerned, there's nothing better.

With the Ergo carbon, you have a different sole (slightly stiffer). And a different buckle, (Techno2 Evolution Buckle) which uses mono-filament (fish line). I've heard this buckle is prone to stripping out.

In my view this is a lot of marketing hype on their part as part of the next generation shoe and of course nearly twice the price... (I'll stick with the Genius 4).

Originally posted by Cipher
With the Ergo carbon, you have a different sole (slightly stiffer). And a different buckle, (Techno2 Evolution Buckle) which uses mono-filament (fish line). I've heard this buckle is prone to stripping out. In my view this is a lot of marketing hype...

I use the Sidi Energy exclusively now. I have had zero problems with the Techno2 buckles, but I take good care of my shoes.

One thing I can say about the Techno2 system is that it gives a *MUCH* more positive lock than velcro straps, and my foot feels much more securely anchored in the shoe. Since using the Techno2, I can't go back to my old Velcro shoes. They just feel cheap and sloppy by comparison.

The Sidi Energy absolutely makes the shoe feel as though it is a part of my foot.

www.mtbr.com will give you lots of opinions on the various sidi shoes, almost all of it very positive.

I've had a pair of sidi technos (the original ones) with their 1st generation of the fishline system and I only had to replace one buckle in 7 years. My current mtb shoes are sidi actions with the techno2 buckle. I don't expect performance to be any different.