Silk boxers alternative

Manic

Jul 25, 2006
Hi, I'm a newbie to biking and have a question. I don't want to wear tight fitting lycra so I was thinking about going with baggy bike shorts with the liner and padding. But I was wondering, before I spent money on quality shorts, if wearing silk boxers and some sort of baggy sport short or cargo short would work just as well.

Manic said:
Hi, I'm a newbie to biking and have a question. I don't want to wear tight fitting lycra so I was thinking about going with baggy bike shorts with the liner and padding. But I was wondering, before I spent money on quality shorts, if wearing silk boxers and some sort of baggy sport short or cargo short would work just as well.
I'd imagine wearing silk boxers while riding a bike would give you the wedgie from hell.

Oh, okay. I've never worn boxers before so I didn't know. I guess I'll go to the bike shop this weekend and buy shorts designed for biking.

Manic said:
the tight fitting lycra is the best part! :cool:

Go the tight fitting lycra.
1 It is the sliding on & off the saddle without the crotch of loose fitting shorts getting caught on the nose of the saddle as you sit back down.
2 Loose shorts stick to your legs when sweating so you're constantly pulling them back by hand as you sit back down
3 Loose shorts can rub & cause chaffing
These are a couple of reasons why loose shorts with or without silk boxers are unsuitable for a serious rider. Not sure how the baggy padded cycle shorts perform but I would think they too would get tangled up, but the padding would aid bum comfort.
BTW I road 5k klms before I bought my first lycra knicks, probably self concious about them to start with, but once I realised their benifits I don't know how I survived so long without them. I still get called "gay" & "pufter pants" by my best mates [who don't ride bikes] but who cares. I tell them you would'nt play football in jeans......

Manic said: