Simple! Attaching Frame Pump?

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by Mike, Apr 8, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mike

Mike Guest

Hi, As a somewhat newbie here, I have a small question.

I have a frame pump that I had previously used down the seat tube. I've put another bottle cage
    there now, so the pump doesn't work there. My top tube is thicker than the seat tube (aluminum
    frame); so the old mount doesnt work.... what is the best way to attach this frame pump to the top
    tube so that it doesn't waggle around.

Mike

Tags:

2. Ken

Ken Guest

mike <[email protected]> wrote in news:[email protected]:
    > what is the best way to attach this frame pump
    > to the top tube so that it doesn't waggle around.

Get a pump that matches the length of your top tube. If your frame doesn't have a pump peg, you can
    fabricate one from a zip tie or something more complicated.

If you don't want a full length frame pump, you may be able to find a pump cap that attaches to your
    top tube. Or you can use velcro straps.

3. dennisg

dennisg New Member

Or...you can get a mini pump for about $12, and attach it to your new water bottle mounts.

4. Don Demair

Don Demair Guest

"dennisg" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:[email protected]...
    > Or...you can get a mini pump for about $12, and attach it to your new water bottle mounts.

Since the original poster is a newbie, let me just add that the mini-pump mounts to the water bottle
    mounts IN ADDITION to the water bottle cage. That is, you don't have to give up a water bottle to
    add a mini-pump. That's how I have all of my bikes set up.

In order to use the same pump under the top tube, visit your local bike shop. They should have some
    adjustable plastic straps with a peg to fit into the end of the frame pump. I would probably use a
    strip of velcro as an added precaution (especially if you ride with others).

Ride on, with water and air, Don

5. A Muzi