Simple question

USAFGAMECOCK

Oct 9, 2006
Okay....this will seem like a really simple, elementary question....because it is. I'm brand new to cycling and so is my wife. We just bought a couple of road bikes and we've loved every second. My wife got her first flat this past weekend, and my question is.....how often does this typically happen? We were just riding along and her rear tube let all of it's air out. Thanks!

USAFGAMECOCK said:
Okay....this will seem like a really simple, elementary question....because it is. I'm brand new to cycling and so is my wife. We just bought a couple of road bikes and we've loved every second. My wife got her first flat this past weekend, and my question is.....how often does this typically happen? We were just riding along and her rear tube let all of it's air out. Thanks!
Depends on tyres, roads and weather you choose and attention to tyre pressure and other maintenance points. For me on my road bike, about once every 5000km.

Faulty tubes in new bikes are not uncommon.

Replace with Continetal or Michelin tubes in the correct size and valve length.

Correct inflation pressure is most important and practice a good pump removal tecnique so as not to break off the vavle stem or loose too much air. ;)

Thanks a bunch! We rode on different types of pavement that day. It would be really smooth on some roads, and others not so much. My wife is worried that it happens all the time and she doesn't want to keep having to buy a new tube.

We're really good about inflating the tires prior to riding. Another simple question....should I inflate a couple of lbs more than recommended to compensate for the slight loss of pressure while removing the pump from the valve?

USAFGAMECOCK said:

Welcome to the down-side of Cycling...:(

It's impossible to say when a flat can typically happen, it really depends...

I haven't had a flat for almost a year yet I've had two in one week previously...it's just the luck of the draw I guess...