Singlespeeds - In What Way Better?

klia

May 25, 2006
Dear All,

It was said to me that multi-speed bikes have been invented to make pedalling easier. Well, I am a newbie and so I'd like to know in what way multispeed-bikes are indeed better than singlespeeds and in what way aren't, and what are the unique advantages of singlespeeds. Could you, please, tell me about that?

I'll be happy with a cross-reference as well if there was once a topic dealing with this question!

(The subject is weighty for me as my knees are not that good and so I'd need a bike which favours them the most.

klia said:
Dear All,

It was said to me that multi-speed bikes have been invented to make pedalling easier. Well, I am a newbie and so I'd like to know in what way multispeed-bikes are indeed better than singlespeeds and in what way aren't, and what are the unique advantages of singlespeeds. Could you, please, tell me about that?

I'll be happy with a cross-reference as well if there was once a topic dealing with this question!

(The subject is weighty for me as my knees are not that good and so I'd need a bike which favours them the most.
copied from wikipedia.org's article on fixed gears:
"light weight, simplicity, low maintenance, and because they are unusual. Another reason cited by messengers for their popularity is their theft-deterrence: riding away on a stolen track bicycle is difficult if the thief does not have previous experience riding one, and since they have less parts, they are often less valuable to a theif than fancier multi-speed bicycles."

Ive had a road bike for a while and have recently become the owner of a single speed. While I still plan on doing much of my training/longer rides on the geared machine, the singlespeed is going to be my commuter. They are just simpler, lighter and easier to maintain.

klia said:
Dear All,

Dear Klia,