Singleton speaks truth

Fausto Coppied

Aug 17, 2006
Gord Singleton, one of the winning cyclists in Canadian history, a World Record holder and World Champ had this to say about the Canadian Cycling association in an interview with Fixed Gear Fever (FGF Bicycle Racing) :

FGF: Canadians have produced some good sprinters over the years. Yourself, Kirk Harnett, Lori Ann Munzer. Is this due to the Canadian cycling program or the individual efforts of these riders?

Gord Singleton: Without a doubt, 100% individual efforts. The CCA will flame me for this but it needs to said, " They are so far behind, that they think they are winning". Canada has had plenty of success's but these are all in spite of rather than because of. I've been doing this for over 30 years now, I think that I have some experience.

You just watch what will come out of Forest City (London On velodrome where Singleton volunteers) over the next 2-3 years. If this group that we have now follow our program they are going to maximize their potentials. And RG, aka Rob Good is a real stand up guy, no messing. I feel honored to be working with him and his volunteers.

You can read the whole interview here:http://www.fixedgearfever.com/modules.php?name=News&file=article&sid=490

So, don’t take my word for it, you have that of a multi-time World Champion and CBC sports commentator.

Gord Singleton joins Eric Van den Eynde, former CCA national team coach who was with Lori Ann Meunzer in Athens when she won her gold medal. Eric quit last week because he said he would if the CCA changed his promised goals and methods. Eric wonders why the CCA has abandoned all hope for the Olympics in 2008 or even 2012, the CCA is talking about 2016.