Sitting or Standing/uphill battles

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Alan McClure

To sit or to stand when climbing uphill? I found this article online, and I was wondering if anyone
has any more info. on it, or any added experience. http://www.pponline.co.uk/encyc/0045.htm

I think that I have found my own experience is pretty similar, when the incline is moderate, then
sitting seems easier, while if the incline is steep, standing seems to make the work easier. Of
course, I am no professional cyclist, but my legs are fairly well developed, so I would think that
my experience would make sense by its meshing with the article's view. Anyway, for a long time I
tried to climb everything sitting, and then after a while only resorted to standing on the really
difficult(steep and technical) sections that would consistently drain my energy reserves. Sometimes
on the uphills I think about buying barends, because I think it may help me keep my weight
positioned properly more easily, but I never buy any because of cost, the possibility of hooking a
tree, and the increased possibility of hooking me during a crash. Maybe I should reconsider. Anyway,
I guess I just switched from one topic to another--oh well, they are connected anyway.

Alan McClure

On Wed, 02 Jul 2003 04:50:31 GMT, "Alan McClure" <[email protected]> wrote:

>To sit or to stand when climbing uphill?

Sometimes both on the same hill, and I never criticize what works for others. <G> The bike,
terrain, available gearing, knee condition, fitness, personal preference, etc... all come into play
when climbing.

Climbing also depends on the bike. I tend to stand more often on hardtails and road bikes, while
sitting more often on full bouncers.

Barry

B a r r y B u r k e J r . <Keep it in the [email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]...
> On Wed, 02 Jul 2003 04:50:31 GMT, "Alan McClure" <[email protected]> wrote:
>
> >To sit or to stand when climbing uphill?
>